Home » News » 8 MPs Suspended for Showing Unruly Behaviour in Rajya Sabha Over 2 Farm Bills

Rajya Sabha chairman M Venkaiah Naidu has suspended eight MPs for showing an unruly behaviour in the house by creating a ruckus. The protests erupted after the two very contentious farm bills were passed in the upper house.

The MPs are suspended for a week. “Derek O Brien, Sanjay Singh, Raju Satav, KK Ragesh, Ripun Bora, Dola Sen, Syed Nazir Hussain and Elamaran Karim suspended for one week for unruly behaviour with the Chair,” said Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu.

The decision came after Parliament Affairs Minister V Muraleedharan moved a notice seeking suspension of the MPs for the rest of the session who had shown unruly behaviour in Rajya Sabha. Chairman Naidu put the motion to vote which was carried by voice vote and thereafter, was adopted by the house.

M Venkaiah Naidu has also rejected the no-confidence motion moved by over 100 MPs from 12 opposition parties against deputy Chairman Harivansh citing the reason that the motion is not admissible under Article 90 of the Indian constitution.

“The suspended members have no right to be in the House. The House cannot function with the presence of non-members,” said V Muraleedharan.

“I urge the members named by the Rajya Sabha Chairman to not take part in the House proceedings,” stated Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha Harivansh.

Taking note of the continuous protests against the suspension of the MPs, the session was adjourned till 10.36 am.

On Sunday, Rajya Sabha had passed the two controversial bills, The Farmers’ Produce Trade and Commerce (Promotion and Facilitation) Bill, 2020, and The Farmers (Empowerment and Protection) Agreement on Price Assurance and Farm Services Bill, 2020 which led to huge furore not only in the upper house but throughout the country as well. The Essential Commodities (Amendment) Bill, 2020 could not be taken up.

We welcome your comments & feedback

Related News

error: Content is protected !!