Home » News » Amaravati Will Remain Sole Capital Of Andhra Pradesh: AP Govt Withdraws 3 Capitals Bill

After the Centre government repealed the three farm laws, the Andhra Pradesh government has also informed the Andhra Pradesh High Court about withdrawing the bill which proposed three different capitals for the state.

The announcement was made by state Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy. Advocate General for the State of Andhra Pradesh, Subrahmanyam Sriram has reportedly informed the High Court about the government’s decision about taking back the contentious three capitals law.

The bills which will be repealed include the AP Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Act 2020 and the AP Capital Region Development Authority (Repeal) Act, 2020.

The laws have proposed to have three different capitals — Amaravati a legislative capital, Visakhapatnam an executive one, and Kurnool a judicial capital — for Andhra Pradesh. The Acts got the assent of the state governor back in 2020 but were challenged by the farmers in the High Court.

We welcome your comments & feedback

Related News

error: Content is protected !!