Home » News » Farooq and Omar Abdullah Moved J&K High Court for 16 NC Leaders Release

National Conference on Monday, moved the Jammu and Kashmir High Court seeking the release of sixteen NC leaders who were detained in their houses illegally since August last year after the centre government ordered to withdraw the special status of the Union Territory.

NC president and Lok Sabha member Farooq Abdullah and NC Vice President Omar Abdullah, who were also under detention, has filed habeas corpus petition, challenging “the unconstitutional and illegal house detention” of all the sixteen senior leaders and functionaries.

Farooq Abdullah has filed a petition seeking the release of Ali Mohammad Sagar, Abdul Rahim Rather, Nasir Aslam Wani, Aga Syed Mehmood, Mohammad Khalil Bandh, Irfan Shah, and Sahmeema Firdous.

While former J&K Chief Minister and Farooq son, Omar Abdullah had moved the Jammu and Kashmir High Court challenging the detention of Mohammad Shafi Uri, Aga Syed Ruhullah Mehdi, Chaudhary Mohammad Ramzaan, Mubarak Gul, Dr. Bashir Veeri, Abdul Majeed Larmi, Basharat Bukhari, Saifudin Bhat Shutru, and Mohammad Shafi.

Both the habeas corpus petitions are filed through their lawyer Shariq Reyaz.

NC spokesperson Imran Dabi Dar communicated that they took the decision to provide the relief to the party members who are still under house arrest and were under detailed under the stringent Public Safety Act.

“Shifting of the detainees from detention centres to their homes only characterized revolving-door detention practice. Quashing of the PSA on party general secretary Ali Muhammad Sagar underscored the indefensible nature of all detentions in the court of law, leading us to believe that the administration will release all the detainees in the absence of any convincing reason behind it,” stated Imran Dabi Dar.

He further added that they are hoping that the legal system will come to the rescue of their colleagues who have been suffering for no fault ever since the abrogation of provisions of Article 370, Article 35 A of the Constitution on August 5, 2019.

We welcome your comments & feedback

Related News

error: Content is protected !!