Home » News » Five more political leaders in J&K released from detention

The Jammu and Kashmir government has released five more political leaders, who were detained after the abrogation of Article 370 of the Indian Constitution, which granted special status to the state.

On 5 August, after the repeal of Article 370, several mainstream leaders in Jammu and Kashmir including National Conference Chief Farooq Abdullah, his son Omar Abdullah, Peoples Democratic Party president Mehbooba Mufti were detained. On October 31, the state was bifurcated into two Union Territories – Jammu and Kashmir with one legislative Assembly and Ladakh, as the other.

Just a day after the J&K administration has restored broadband services in five districts of the Jammu region, the government released the detainees under the Public Safety Act (PSA). As per sources, the detainees who were released today include National Conference leader Salman Sagar, PDP leader Nizamuddin Bhat, Showkat Ganai, Altaf Kalloo and Muktiar Baba.

Earlier on 30 December 2019, five other politicians including two MLAs were released from detention.

We welcome your comments & feedback

Related News

error: Content is protected !!